ARC Reviews

One of the best parts of being booksellers is the constant influx of pre-released books, known as Advanced Readers Copies or ARCs that we are allowed to review. It is is also sometimes the most overwhelming. This is where our customers come in. When we have an over-abundance of ARCs to read, we will place them on a cart in the front of our store and offer them to our customers. All that we ask in return is that the customers email us a review of the books they choose. Below is a random list of titles our customers have reviewed for us and their opinions.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Forgotten Seamstress Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781402282485
Availability: Special Order
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - May 1st, 2014

By Susan P.
1.Well researched English historical novel about the mystery of a patchwork quilt.  The quilt is the main character in story lines involving several periods in people’s lives.  Brought to a “Well tied” up conclusion.
2. Lost sleep getting to the end- my highest compliment.
3.Yes you should offer it for sale
4. The author’s first book The Forgotten Telegram
5. The book includes a study guide and an interesting conversation with the author about fabrics.
Should be very appealing to the many quilting fans in Lewis County.


Mrs. Hemingway Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143124610
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - May 27th, 2014


By Stephanie C.

Summary: Insight into Earnest Hemingway's private life from the perspective of his relationship with his four wives based on real letters and telegrams.
I likes it and would recommend the book to others.
Yes I would offer this book .
Historical fiction I have no specific book in mind
I think this book has a vary inviting cover.


And Then She Was Gone Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780758274991
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Kensington Publishing Corporation - December 31st, 2013

By Stephanie C.

Title: And Then She Was Gone

Author: Rosalind Noonan

Summary: Lauren, a 11 year old girl was abducted and is found when she was 17. The story is about Lauren and her family reunification process. Insight into family dynamics and therapy.

I enjoyed the book. I did not first choose the book and am not attracted to the cover. I do not think it gives insight into the content of the book. This book would be good for those who like real life issues. I do not think the cover draws you in. Interesting facts about equine therapy. The story takes place in the Portland, Oregon area where the further currently lives.

Thank You for the good reads!


Thousand Words Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316209724
Availability: Special Order
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 21st, 2013

By Arrianne P.

1.Things spin out of control after Ashleigh, a junior in high school, texts nude pictures of herself to her boyfriend. The police get involved when the picture is sent around the school and labeled as “child pornography.” Ashleigh must learn to get over her humiliation and move on with her life.

2.I love the book!

3.Yes, you should offer it for sale.

4.If you liked this book, you might also like Hate List, also written by Jennifer Brown; or When You Were Here, written by Daisy Whitney.

5.This was an excellent read! I enjoyed every page and had a difficult time putting it down. Filled with emotion, there is definitely much to learn from this book, and Jennifer Brown delivers it all in vivid and entertaining storytelling.


The Here and Now Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780385736800
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - April 8th, 2014

By Shelleen L.

Time travel and the impact of changing the events of what is the current past. Captivating and easy read for teens and adults. I did like it Yes you should offer it for sale I think in the young adult section


A Circle of Wives Cover Image
Email at booknbrush@gmail.com or call (360)748-6221 for price.
ISBN: 9780802122346
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Atlantic Monthly Press - March 4th, 2014

By Shelleen L.

A loving husband and a mysterious death. Love and marriage and knowing your spouse and what they may be capable of. Liked it - didn't love it No do not offer it for sale-it was a page turner but felt too broken up in the telling of the tale


Pee-Shy Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9780758291325
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Kensington Publishing Corporation - December 31st, 2013

By Denise L.

A memoir by a man, who is now a doctor. He tells of his molestation by his Boy Scout leader, who he finds out has adopted many boys over the years. He also details his subsequent struggle to work through his feelings and then  his journey to bring the molester to justice. 

I don't think I'd recommend this book. The author is gay and the first 60 pages are mostly details of the gay dating scene, which sounded like a 15 year old, giggly girl's story. I think this book would appeal mostly to gays. 


The Elusive Language of Ducks Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781780744001
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: ONEWorld Publications - July 15th, 2014

By Steve H.

I liked it, it was my style of reading.  It is about a woman who aquires a duckling to care for after her mother dies, and about her over-attachment
with the duck and how she puts her life back together.  It was somewhat "hard" to read, because it was abstract in places.  Meaning I had to decepher how some ideas fit into the story as a whole.  I hope that makes sense.  I like this kind of book though, its also very heavy on the meaning of life.  I think you should offer it for sale.


This Is the Water Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062294906
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - July 29th, 2014

By Denise L.

The story revolves around Annie, a mother with two daughters who are on a swim team. Annie also swims while the girls are practicing and sometimes it seems the water 'speaks' to her. When a murder occurs near their small community, questions arise to whether this murder could be connected to one that happened many years before. 

The book got my attention right from the start and I really enjoyed it. I think it would especially appeal to mothers. I think you should offer it for sale. 

Thanks for the opportunity!


In Paradise Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781594633171
Availability: Special Order
Published: Riverhead Books - April 8th, 2014

By Anne H.

Summary: A group of people from different faiths and persuasions gather at Auschwitz to meditate and reflect on it's horrors and meaning.  There is a good deal of tension, anger, and mystery, as well as a yearned for romance, as characters reveal their reasons for participating in this event. Interplay with contemporary people living near by the camp provides a thought provoking glimpse of the Holocaust's place in history.

Like/Dislike:

While Mattiesen's language is always exquisite, I was disappointed in the book.  The "plot" is a bit weak and the story unfolds stiffly.  Some parts of the narrative simply make no sense - it's written almost as if the characters were forced to come to this event rather than being willing participants. It seemed as though Mattiesen was pursuing some substories - an interfaith romance, the role of the Catholic church in the Holocaust, etc. but these just faded off, as did the novel. 

Purchase: I don't think so.

If you liked this book...you might also like....

Night, by Elie Wiesel

Other thoughts:  Despite my disappointment, the book prompted me to seek out additional information on the Holocaust, including photos, You Tube videos, etc.  So in this sense, the novel was a success.  We cannot ever forget!

Thanks for the opportunity to read this book.  It was such a treat to find your offerings of these books and I hope my comments aren't too late.  I've loved visiting your store for many years!


Gemini Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781451627930
Availability: Special Order
Published: Simon & Schuster - March 4th, 2014

By Elizabeth M.

This is a story of two women who become entwined by circumstance and one man. One is a physician, the other a seriously injured accident victim. It deals with relationships past and present and the effects those relationships have on individuals. The story takes place in the beautiful Pacific Northwest with a lot of interesting medical details as well.
I liked the book a lot. I do not care for romances but the interaction of these characters did not feel like a romance. I like reading books, fiction and nonfiction, that take place in the PNW plus books dealing with medical issues. I felt this book was entertaining plus I learned some new things.
I think it would be a good book to stock. I am not sure what books to recommend. The book has some characteristics of Kathy Reichs books (mystery in a medical setting) but it is not exactly that genre.


Poached Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781442467774
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - April 8th, 2014

By Beau C., Age 10

The story is about a boy who gets framed for stealing a Koala. He has to clear his name and avoid the bully named Vance or he will get sent to juvie.

I liked the book! It made me want to keep reading and not stop. You should offer it for sale.

If you like this book, you would also like Northwoods by Brian Falkner.

Note: Beau is a 4th grade student who reads at the 7th to 8th grade level.



The Lobster Kings Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780393089578
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 27th, 2014

By Hank C.

A fisherman passes on his family's lobster fishing heritage to his daughter along with the legendary  family curse. 

I liked the book and enjoyed reading it.


Further Out Than You Thought Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062292377
Availability: Special Order
Published: William Morrow & Company - August 5th, 2014

By Jessica W.

 

I really wanted to like this book, that’s why I kept going with it, even though it didn’t lure me in at first. Problem was, I never could connect with the main character. I like dark, personal books. I don’t mind erotic books. But I kept having the feeling that because I promised to do this review, it was homework. It felt like a relief when I realized I could stop reading any time I wanted to.

The character development was vague and slow, the plot was a snooze, the writing style was irritating (too many similes and metaphors) and I didn’t really get the point. After 75 pages, I realized I didn’t care what happened next and put the book down.

 


The Home Place Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062323446
Availability: Special Order
Published: William Morrow & Company - July 29th, 2014

By Anne L.

 

A very well written book.  I had a hard time putting it down so I could sleep.  

I liked it a lot.  I think your customers would like this book very much.

 


Jackaby Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781616203535
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - September 16th, 2014

By Hazel W.

 

What can possibly be better than Sherlock Holmes with a supernatural flair? Jackaby is a very unique mixture of faery story, mystery and adventure with instantly lovable characters and a good dose of humor on the side. This is the best book I have read so far this year. I am very much looking forward to seeing what Willian Ritter will come up with next after this amazing debut. 


Mouseheart Cover Image
By Lisa Fiedler, Vivienne To (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781442487819
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - May 20th, 2014

By Beau C. 

A mouse named Hopper that's been in a cage his whole life gets his mother taken away from him, and he has to find her. But his mother murmured a strange word - "mews" - as she was taken away.

Hopper has to get out of his cage because a boy will feed him to his snake. When they get out they get separated in the sewers and Hopper thinks he must find his brother and sister. Hopper finds out that the word meant "mus" not "mews", and "mus" is a rebel army that fights to destroy a castle ruled by a rat. Hopper finds out that the castle ruled by the rat has a peace treaty with the cats that they can't eat their mice, but they have to give some mice to them to eat, by so-called colonizing. So the rebels are trying to take down the castle. I like this book a lot. I think this book should be for sale, and if you liked this book you might like the Warriors series.


Dead Man's Fancy: A Sean Stranahan Mystery Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780670014699
Availability: Special Order
Published: Viking - January 2nd, 2014

By Karen B. 

 

It's a murder/suspense story that takes place in Montana/Wyoming/Yellow Stone Park. Loaded with lots of fly fishing stuff. Dead Man's Fancy is a hard tried day fly for fishing. Characters a plot are very interesting - I liked it and think it should be offered for sale.

 

I liked the book well enough to be interested in reading others by this author.


Keeping Current...

David & the staff would like to

extend our warmest congratulations to

all the 2017 graduates!

Stay safe each and

every one of you!

 

 

Image result for graduates